Our TVS Operator course is designed for those who are looking to qualify for their TVS Operator license. With Safe2Drive, you'll enjoy a convenient and affordable course that satisfies the California DMV's educational training program requirement. Instead of sitting in a classroom, you can satisfy your educational training requirement
100% online, and on your own schedule. Complete your course whenever you want to--you have 24/7 access to your online course!
Our 8-Hour California TVS Operator course is comprehensive and contains everything you need to know to operate a Traffic Violator School in California. We cover the following and more:
- Licensing and renewal requirements for TVS owners and operators
- Responsibilities of a TVS operator
- Requirements for owners to have their own TVS school licensed
- Instructor licensing procedures and requirements
- Office procedures
- TVS statutes and regulations
- Recordkeeping and document retention requirements
- Preparing for CTSI monitoring
- Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements (beginning with 42 U.S.C. Sec. 12101)
- Responsibilities of a TVS instructor
- Subject material required by the department for a Traffic Violator School program
- New traffic laws
- Safe driving practices
- Effective methods and techniques of teaching
- Techniques for student participation
You'll feel completely prepared to operate a California Traffic Violator School after taking our course.
If you ever have questions about your course, our friendly Customer Care team is here 7 days a week to help you. You can reach out via phone, email or Live Chat!
Sounds great, right? Sign up for Safe2Drive's California TVS Operator 8-Hour course by clicking any of the orange Register buttons on this page. Creating an account only takes a couple minutes,
and then you'll be on your way!
A Quick Guide to Getting Your California TVS Operator License
You must be at least 21 years old to get a CA TVS Operator license.
Step 1: Complete an 8-hour CA TVS Operator course.
You must complete an 8-hour CA TVS Operator course that is approved by the CA DMV. Safe2Drive's course meets this requirement. You will receive a Certificate of Completion when you pass the course. Keep
this certificate. You will need to submit this certificate as proof of completing an approved program when you submit your CA TVS Operator application.
Step 2: Submit fingerprints.
You must submit to fingerprinting at an Authorized Live Scan location and complete a Request for Live Scan Service (DMV 8016).
Step 3: Visit a DMV inspector office with your completed forms and pay your fees.
Bring the following completed forms with you to the DMV inspector office:
When you submit your application and required documents at the DMV inspector office, you will also be required to pay several fees, including an application fee and testing fee. Visit the CA DMV's website to see the complete list of fees.
Step 4: Pass the written exam.
You must pass a written exam to get your CA TVS Operator license. You will take the exam at the DMV inspector office when you submit your application and required paperwork. You have three attempts to pass your written exam. You must complete your application within one year or a new application with all examinations and fees will be required.
The written exam covers traffic laws, safe driving practices, safe operation of motor vehicles, knowledge of teaching methods and techniques, and Traffic Violator School statues and regulations, office procedures and record keeping.
Back to Top