Why Should I Take this Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course?
Flordia drivers take this course voluntarily to get a ticket dismissed, keep points off their driving record, and prevent an increase in their insurance premium.
Drivers also take our course to satisfy a court order or to fulfill a requirement by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to retain their license after committing a traffic offense.
You can read more about the reasons why drivers take our Florida Basic Driver Improvement course here.
Am I Eligible to Take a BDI Course?
If you received a ticket for a non-criminal moving violation, you can elect to take a Florida traffic school course if you meet the following eligibility requirements:
- You are eligible to attend traffic school once every 12 months as an election.
- You may attend traffic school more than once in 12 months if a judge orders it.
- You may only attend traffic school 5 times in your lifetime.
- You may not elect to take traffic school if you hold a commercial driver's license (regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving when you received your ticket).
How It Works
Our Florida Basic Driver Improvement course is full of great benefits and can be completed in just three easy steps:
Step One: Register.
Registration is quick and easy. You'll create a username and password and read some information about the course. Then, you're ready to get started! No payment is required up front, so you can try the course for free. You don't have to pay until you take the final exam.
Step Two: Take the Course.
Our Florida Basic Driver Improvement course (also called Traffic School) consists of 9 short lessons made up of reading material, videos, animations and games on traffic laws and
defensive driving techniques. As per Florida state requirements, the course is 4 hours long. You can proceed at your own pace--complete the course in one sitting, or do a little at a time.
Each time you log in, we automatically take you right back to where you left off.
There is a short multiple-choice quiz after each lesson that consists of five questions. You must answer four questions correctly to proceed to the next lesson. You can take
the lesson quizzes as many times as necessary to pass.
The final part of the course is a 40-question multiple-choice final exam. You must score at least 80% to pass. Most people pass on their first attempt, but don't worry! We allow unlimited exam retakes at no extra charge, so you can retake the exam until you pass.
Step Three: Receive Your Florida BDI Certificate of Completion.
Upon successful completion of your Florida BDI course, you will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. You can print this certificate online.
If you are taking a BDI course for election (after receiving a ticket for a non-criminal moving violation), or for a court order,
you will need to submit this certificate to your court.
If you are taking a BDI course because you received notice from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to do so,
Safe2Drive will electronically report your completion information to the DHSMV within 3 business days.
Remember to check with the DHSMV 7-10 business days after you complete the course to ensure they have processed your completion.
Please Note: It takes approximately 48 hours for your course completion to be annotated on your record once we report it.
It is a good idea to keep a copy of your receipt of completion for your own records.
At Safe2Drive, we put our customers above everything else. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and top-notch courses at low prices. We're constantly updating our courses to make sure they have the most up-to-date information and use the best technology available.
We also offer a Money Back Guarantee.
Best of all, our courses are easy to complete and extremely convenient. Skip the hassle of the classroom and take your course online from the comfort of your own home (or on the go!).
So what are you waiting for? Get started today!
Back to Top