• Overview
  • FAQs
Overview

Qualify for your unrestricted driver license if you're under the age of 18, or prepare for your Knowledge Test.

  • Forget the hassle of classrooms--take the course entirely online.
  • Fun, engaging course full of videos, games, and interactive multimedia to make learning to drive easy.
  • Great way to brush up on traffic laws before taking your Knowledge Test.
  • FREE unlimited retakes on the final exam. Take it until you pass at no extra charge!
  • We email you your Certificate of Completion for FREE.
  • Excellent Customer Service. We are here for you 7 days a week!

Register Now

How the Pennsylvania Driver Education Course Works

You can complete your course in three simple steps:

1. Register for the Course

Create an account with a username and password, and read some basic information on the course. That's it! You're ready to get started.

2. Complete the Online Instruction

Our 30-hour course is taken completely online and is full of engaging text and fun videos, interactive multimedia elements and games. Our course experience is designed to make learning to drive fun and engaging.

There is a 5-question multiple-choice quiz after each lesson. You must score at least 80% to pass and proceed to the next lesson. You are permitted unlimited retakes on lesson quizzes at no extra charge.

You can try the course for FREE! We don't collect payment until you reach the final exam.

At the end of the course, you will take a 40-question multiple-choice final exam online. You must score at least 80% to pass. Most people pass on their first attempt, but don't worry. You can retake the exam again until you pass at no extra charge.

3. Get Your Certificate of Completion

Once you have successfully completed the course and passed your final exam, we will email you your Certificate of Completion.


How To Get Your Unrestricted Driver License If You Are Under Age 18

Pennsylvania follows a Graduated Driver License Program for drivers under age 18, which consists of 3 licensing stages. Each licensing stage comes with different requirements and driving restrictions. The purpose of this program is to help reduce teen drivers’ risk of collision and fatality.

Step One: Learner's Permit

You need a learner’s permit to operate a vehicle in Pennsylvania. To qualify for a learner’s permit, you must be at least 16 years old and apply for a permit at the Driver License Center. You must bring the following completed forms, documentation, and payment with you:

  • A completed Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (DL-180). Be sure to have your health care provider complete the back of the Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (DL-180). The form must be completed no earlier than six (6) months prior to your 16th birthday. All information must be completed. If the Driver License Examiner cannot determine whether the information on the Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (DL-180) meets medical standards, your learner’s permit may be delayed. You may be required to undergo additional medical examinations. If you have a condition that seriously impairs your ability to drive, you may be required to get a dual control learner’s permit and learn to drive with a certified instructor.
  • If you are under 18 years of age, your parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older must complete the Parent or Guardian Consent Form (DL-180TD). If the parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older cannot accompany the applicant, the DL-180TD must be signed by the parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older in the presence of a notary. Proper identification is required and if last names are different, verification of relationship is needed.
  • Proof of date of birth and identification. These documents must be originals (photocopies will not be accepted). Forms of identification that may be used to prove your identity are on the back of the Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (DL-180) along with fees.
  • Your Social Security card (card must be signed).
  • If you are over 18 years of age, you must also present two (2) proofs of residency:
    • Current utility bills (water, gas, electric, cable, etc.)
    • Tax records
    • Lease agreements
    • W-2 Form
    • Current Weapons Permit (U.S. Citizens only)
    • Mortgage documents
  • A check or money order made payable to Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) for the correct amount. Cash, debit or credit cards cannot be accepted.

At the Driver License Center, your vision will be tested and you must pass the Knowledge Test on signs, laws and driving rules.

After meeting these requirements, you will be issued a learner’s permit, which is valid for one year. You may begin to practice driving after you receive your learner’s permit.

Restrictions: A licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age or a parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older and holds a driver’s license must ride with you in the front seat of your vehicle at all times. In addition, drivers under the age of 18 cannot have more passengers in the vehicle than the number of seat belts.

Step Two: Junior Driver License

If you are under age 18, the next step in the licensing process is the Junior Driver License. To qualify for your Junior Driver License, you must do the following:

  1. Hold your learner’s permit for at least 6 months.
  2. Complete at least 65 hours of behind-the-wheel skill-building including no less than 10 hours of nighttime driving and five (5) hours of bad weather driving.
  3. Pass the Road Test.

If your learner’s permit expires or you do not pass your Road Test after three tries, you may obtain a Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application to add/extend/replace/change or correct your learner’s permit (DL-31).

Restrictions: Like the learner’s permit, there are some limitations to the junior driver’s license. They are:

  • You may not drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m., unless your parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older is with you. However, you may drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. if you are involved in public or charitable service, if you are a member of a volunteer fire company or if you are employed during those hours. In these cases, you must carry a notarized affidavit or certificate of authorization from your employer, supervisor or fire chief indicating your probable schedule of activities. This notarized affidavit should be kept with your driver’s license.
  • You may not carry more passengers than seat belts available in the vehicle you are driving.
  • You may not carry more than one (1) passenger under the age of 18 who is not an immediate family member unless a parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older is in the vehicle with you. After the first six (6) months of driving on a junior license, the limit is increased to no more than three (3) passengers under the age of 18 who are not immediate family members unless a parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older is in the vehicle with you. The increased limit does not apply to any junior driver who has ever been involved in a crash in which you were partially or fully responsible or who is convicted of any driving violation.
  • You will receive a mandatory 90-day suspension if you accumulate six (6) or more points or are convicted of driving 26 miles per hour (mph) or more over the posted speed limit.

Step Three: Unrestricted Driver License

You may get a regular driver’s license after you have held a junior driver’s license for one (1) year, if you meet the following conditions:

  • Have passed a driver training course approved by the PA Department of Education. Safe2Drive’s online Driver Education course satisfies the 30-hour classroom requirement for driver education. You will also be required to complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a certified driving school.
  • Have not been involved in a crash for which you are partially or fully responsible for one (1) year.
  • Have not been convicted of any violation of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code for one (1) year.
  • Have the consent of your parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is at least 18 years of age.

If you meet these requirements, you may apply for a regular driver’s license by submitting an Application for Change from a Junior Driver’s License to a Regular Non-Commercial Driver’s License (DL-59). Your junior driver’s license will automatically become a regular driver’s license when you turn 18 years of age.


Why Safe2Drive?

At Safe2Drive, we put our customers above everything else. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and top-notch courses at low prices. We're constantly updating our courses to make sure they have the most up-to-date information and use the best technology available. We also offer a Money Back Guarantee.

Best of all, our courses are easy to complete and extremely convenient. Skip the hassle of the classroom and take your course online from the comfort of your own home (or on the go!).

So what are you waiting for? Get started today!

Register Now

Back to Top


Frequently Asked Questions

Pennsylvania Driver Education

Register Now

General Information

We have made every attempt to answer the most commonly asked Pennsylvania Driver Education questions. Please call or email us if your question is not here.

Questions

Why should I take the Pennyslvania Driver Education course?

The majority of students take our course because they are under age 18 and want to get an unrestricted driver license. In the state of Pennsylvania, if you are under age 18, you are required to complete a driver training course approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Education to qualify for an unrestricted license. Safe2Drive's 30-hour online Driver Education course satisfies the required 30 hours of classroom/theory driver training instruction. You will also need to complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with an approved school.

You may also take our course to prepare for your Knowledge Test, or just as a means of learning or brushing up on basic traffic laws in Pennsylvania.

How does the Pennsylvania Driver Education course work?

You can complete your course in three simple steps:

1. Register for the Course

Create an account with a username and password, and read some basic information on the course. That's it! You're ready to get started.

2. Complete the Online Instruction

Our 30-hour course is taken completely online and is full of engaging text and fun videos, interactive multimedia elements and games. Our course experience is designed to make learning to drive fun and engaging.

There is a 5-question multiple-choice quiz after each lesson. You must score at least 80% to pass and proceed to the next lesson. You are permitted unlimited retakes on lesson quizzes at no extra charge.

You can try the course for FREE! We don't collect payment until you reach the final exam.

At the end of the course, you will take a 40-question multiple-choice final exam online. You must score at least 80% to pass. Most people pass on their first attempt, but don't worry. You can retake the exam again until you pass at no extra charge.

3. Get Your Certificate of Completion

Once you have successfully completed the course and passed your final exam, we will email you your Certificate of Completion.

How do I get my unrestricted driver license if I am under age 18?

Pennsylvania follows a Graduated Driver License Program for drivers under age 18, which consists of 3 licensing stages. Each licensing stage comes with different requirements and driving restrictions. The purpose of this program is to help reduce teen drivers’ risk of collision and fatality.

Step One: Learner's Permit

You need a learner’s permit to operate a vehicle in Pennsylvania. To qualify for a learner’s permit, you must be at least 16 years old and apply for a permit at the Driver License Center. You must bring the following completed forms, documentation, and payment with you:

  • A completed Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (DL-180). Be sure to have your health care provider complete the back of the Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (DL-180). The form must be completed no earlier than six (6) months prior to your 16th birthday. All information must be completed. If the Driver License Examiner cannot determine whether the information on the Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (DL-180) meets medical standards, your learner’s permit may be delayed. You may be required to undergo additional medical examinations. If you have a condition that seriously impairs your ability to drive, you may be required to get a dual control learner’s permit and learn to drive with a certified instructor.
  • If you are under 18 years of age, your parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older must complete the Parent or Guardian Consent Form (DL-180TD). If the parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older cannot accompany the applicant, the DL-180TD must be signed by the parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older in the presence of a notary. Proper identification is required and if last names are different, verification of relationship is needed.
  • Proof of date of birth and identification. These documents must be originals (photocopies will not be accepted). Forms of identification that may be used to prove your identity are on the back of the Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (DL-180) along with fees.
  • Your Social Security card (card must be signed).
  • If you are over 18 years of age, you must also present two (2) proofs of residency:
    • Current utility bills (water, gas, electric, cable, etc.)
    • Tax records
    • Lease agreements
    • W-2 Form
    • Current Weapons Permit (U.S. Citizens only)
    • Mortgage documents
  • A check or money order made payable to Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) for the correct amount. Cash, debit or credit cards cannot be accepted.

At the Driver License Center, your vision will be tested and you must pass the Knowledge Test on signs, laws and driving rules.

After meeting these requirements, you will be issued a learner’s permit, which is valid for one year. You may begin to practice driving after you receive your learner’s permit.

Restrictions: A licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age or a parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older and holds a driver’s license must ride with you in the front seat of your vehicle at all times. In addition, drivers under the age of 18 cannot have more passengers in the vehicle than the number of seat belts.

Step Two: Junior Driver License

If you are under age 18, the next step in the licensing process is the Junior Driver License. To qualify for your Junior Driver License, you must do the following:

  1. Hold your learner’s permit for at least 6 months.
  2. Complete at least 65 hours of behind-the-wheel skill-building including no less than 10 hours of nighttime driving and five (5) hours of bad weather driving.
  3. Pass the Road Test.

If your learner’s permit expires or you do not pass your Road Test after three tries, you may obtain a Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application to add/extend/replace/change or correct your learner’s permit (DL-31).

Restrictions: Like the learner’s permit, there are some limitations to the junior driver’s license. They are:

  • You may not drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m., unless your parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older is with you. However, you may drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. if you are involved in public or charitable service, if you are a member of a volunteer fire company or if you are employed during those hours. In these cases, you must carry a notarized affidavit or certificate of authorization from your employer, supervisor or fire chief indicating your probable schedule of activities. This notarized affidavit should be kept with your driver’s license.
  • You may not carry more passengers than seat belts available in the vehicle you are driving.
  • You may not carry more than one (1) passenger under the age of 18 who is not an immediate family member unless a parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older is in the vehicle with you. After the first six (6) months of driving on a junior license, the limit is increased to no more than three (3) passengers under the age of 18 who are not immediate family members unless a parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older is in the vehicle with you. The increased limit does not apply to any junior driver who has ever been involved in a crash in which you were partially or fully responsible or who is convicted of any driving violation.
  • You will receive a mandatory 90-day suspension if you accumulate six (6) or more points or are convicted of driving 26 miles per hour (mph) or more over the posted speed limit.

Step Three: Unrestricted Driver License

You may get a regular driver’s license after you have held a junior driver’s license for one (1) year, if you meet the following conditions:

  • Have passed a driver training course approved by the PA Department of Education. Safe2Drive’s online Driver Education course satisfies the 30-hour classroom requirement for driver education. You will also be required to complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a certified driving school.
  • Have not been involved in a crash for which you are partially or fully responsible for one (1) year.
  • Have not been convicted of any violation of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code for one (1) year.
  • Have the consent of your parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is at least 18 years of age.

If you meet these requirements, you may apply for a regular driver’s license by submitting an Application for Change from a Junior Driver’s License to a Regular Non-Commercial Driver’s License (DL-59). Your junior driver’s license will automatically become a regular driver’s license when you turn 18 years of age.

Are there lesson quizzes? What happens if I fail one?

At the end of each lesson is a 5-question multiple-choice quiz. You must score at least 80% to pass. You are allowed unlimited retakes on lesson quizzes, so you can take them until you pass! Lesson quizzes are a great way to review material and will prepare you for the final exam.

Is there a final exam?

Yes, there is a 40-question multiple-choice final exam at the end of the course. Most people pass it on the first try, but don't worry. You can retake the final exam as many times as necessary until you pass at no additional charge.

How long does the Pennsylvania Driver Education course take to complete?

Per state requirements, the Pennsylvania Driver Education course is 30 hours long. Lessons are timed to ensure you spend the required amount of time in the course.

How do I get my Certificate of Completion?

After you complete the course and pass the final exam, we will email you your Certificate of Completion.

How much does the Pennsylvania Driver Education course cost?

This course costs $94.95.

Register Now

Back to Top