Ready to get out there on the road? Our TLSAE course and permit test bundle option is a great way to satisfy the requirements for your Learner's License. Skip the hassle of classroom courses or taking the permit test
at the crowded Florida driver license agency and complete both of these requirements online from the comfort of your own home.
How It Works
You can complete your Florida TLSAE course and permit test requirements in 3 easy steps!
Step One: Register
Registration is quick and easy! You'll create an account with your username and password and fill out your contact information. You'll also need to supply a unique identifier, which can be the last five digits of your
Social Security Number, your alien registration number, your admissions number, or your Florida ID card.
During registration, you'll also answer personal validation questions, which you'll be asked to recall your answers for during the course and test. Here's an example of a personal validation question: "What's your favorite candy?"
You must be at least 14 years and 6 months old and under the age of 18 to take the permit test online. If you are under 14 years and 6 months old or if you are 18 or older, you cannot purchase the bundle option.
Step Two: Complete the TLSAE Course and Permit Test
You can complete the TLSAE course and permit test in whichever order you prefer.
Florida TLSAE Course
The TLSAE course is 4 hours long and is divided into 10 short lessons on topics ranging from the physiological effects of drugs and alcohol to how to drive safely in bad weather. Each lesson is full of fun videos, animations and games. You can complete the course at your own pace--come and go as you please. Every time you log in, we'll take you to where you last left off.
At the end of each lesson is a short multiple-choice quiz. You must score at least 80% on the quiz to pass. If you don't pass on the first try, don't worry! You can take the quiz as many times as you need to pass at no additional charge.
During the TLSAE course, you will be asked one validation question after each of the first five lessons. An example of a validation question is "What is your favorite color?" You must answer the question
correctly to proceed with the course. You have 10 minutes and 3 attempts to answer the question correctly. If you do not answer the question correctly within that 10-minute time frame and within the 3 attempts, the State of Florida requires that we block you from completing the course.
At the end of the TLSAE course is a 40-question multiple-choice final exam. You must score at least 80% to pass. Most people pass on their first attempt, but you can take the exam as many times as you need to get a passing score.
Florida Permit Test
The permit test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions on road signs and traffic laws. You must answer 40 questions correctly to pass. Each question is immediately graded as soon as you select an answer, so you will know right away if you got a question correct or incorrect. You should study the Florida Driver License Handbook to help you prepare for the test. You can view the Florida Driver License Handbook here.
Once you answer 40 questions correctly, you have passed the exam and the exam will end. You have 60 minutes to complete the exam.
The State of Florida requires that you answer validation questions (also known as "personal security questions") during the exam to verify that the person registering for the exam is the person taking the exam. You will fill out answers to the validation questions during registration. An example of a validation question is "What is your favorite color?" You will be asked one validation question after every
five exam questions. You must answer the validation question correctly to proceed with the exam. If you answer the validation question incorrectly, you will automatically fail the exam. This is a requirement mandated by the State of Florida.
The Florida driver license agency requires that you remain active in the permit test while you’re taking it and that you don’t navigate away from the test to outside webpages. If you are inactive in the permit test for 15 minutes, you will see an inactivity alert notifying you that you have been inactive and asking you to click “OK” to resume the test. If you do not click “OK” within 60 seconds of seeing the alert, the exam will be terminated and counted as a failed attempt.
The State of Florida allows you 3 attempts to pass the Florida Permit Test online. If you fail the test a third time, you will be required to retake the exam at a local Florida driver license agency. Don't worry, we're confident you'll pass!
Please note that you must pay for each online exam attempt. Unfortunately, the Florida driver license agency charges us for every online exam attempt, which is why you must pay each time you take the exam. Don’t worry! Safe2Drive includes free practice tests to help you prepare, so be sure to study hard!
Your parent or guardian must supervise you as you take the permit test. Before you can begin the exam, your parent or guardian must provide their Driver License number and acknowledge that they are proctoring the exam.
Step Three: We Transmit Your TLSAE Course and Permit Test Completions to the Florida Driver License Agency for You
We automatically submit your TLSAE course and permit test completions to the Florida driver license agency for you. These completions are separate and will be submitted at the time each item is completed (i.e., we submit your TLSAE completion as soon as you complete the course and your permit test completion as soon as you pass the permit test). We also provide you with a FREE copy of your Receipt of Completion for the TLSAE course and the permit test that you can keep for your records.
Please note that it takes approximately 48 hours for your TLSAE course completion to be annotated on your record once we report it.
Students who take the permit test online may be randomly selected for re-examination at the driver license office prior to issuance of your license. You must pass the re-examination to get your license.
A Quick Guide to Getting Your Learner's License
To qualify for your Learner's License you must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course.
- Pass the permit test (also known as the Class E Knowledge exam).
- Pass a vision test.
If you are under age 18 and you are not married, you must have your parent or legal guardian sign your license application in front of the driver license examiner/agent or a notary public. The parent or
legal guardian who signs your application agrees to take responsibility for your driving. If the signer decides to rescind responsibility, your license will be canceled. Married minors must show a certified
marriage certificate. Emancipated minors must show a certified court order.
If you meet the above requirements, fill out a driver license application and visit the Florida driver license agency with your parent if you are under 18 to apply for your Learner's License.
Driving Restrictions: If you are between the ages of 15 and 17 and have a Learner's License, you must adhere to the following driving restrictions:
- You must always drive accompanied by a licensed driver who is age 21 or older in the closest seat to the right of the driver.
- You must only drive during daylight hours during the first 3 months after earning your Learner's License. After 3 months, you may drive until 10 P.M.
How To Get Your Florida Class E Driver License
To qualify for your Florida Class E Driver License, you must do the following:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course.
- You must provide the required identification documents (to find more information regarding the required identification documents, click here).
- You must pass the permit test (also known as the Class E Knowledge exam).
- You must pass a vision test.
- You must pass the Driving Skills exam.
- If you are under age 18, you must also:
- Hold your Learner's License for 12 months or until your 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
- Have NO moving traffic violation convictions for 12 months from the date your Leaner's License was issued. Or, you may have ONE moving traffic violation (within 12 months of the date your Learner's License was issued) if adjudication is withheld.
- Have a parent, legal guardian, or responsible adult 21 years old or older certify that you have had at least 50 hours of driving experience, 10 hours of which must be at night.
- Have a parent or guardian sign the parental consent form.
- Be in compliance with school attendance.
Driving Restrictions: If you are under age 18 and have your Class E Driver License, you face certain driving restrictions depending on your age.
- If you are age 16, you must not drive between 11 P.M. to 6 A.M.
- If you are age 17, you must not drive between 1 A.M. to 5 A.M. unless you are driving to or from work OR you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is age 21 or older.
- Any driver under age 18 who accumulates 6 or more points within a 12-month period is automatically restricted for one year to driving for "Business Purposes ONLY."
We understand you're eager to get your Learner's License and get out there on the road. That's why we've made it easy to meet your Learner's License requirements with our TLSAE course and permit test bundle option. Get both of these requirements done online for a great discounted price. We even offer FREE online practice exams to help ensure you pass the permit test on your first try!
You can take your TLSAE course and permit test on a desktop, tablet, or even your cell phone! Once you pass, we report your results to the Florida driver license agency for you! It's as simple as that.
So what are you waiting for? Get started today!
Back to Top