We have made every attempt to answer the most commonly asked questions. Please call or email us if your question is not here.
Is Safe2Drive's California 4-Hour TVS Operator course licensed by the California DMV?
Yes, Safe2Drive's California 4-Hour TVS Operator course is licensed by the California DMV.
What is a TVS Operator?
All Traffic Violator Schools (TVS) are required to have a licensed Operator. The Operator directs and manages the school. TVS Operators must renew their license annually. In order to renew their license, TVS Operators must annually complete a 4-hour Operator training course.
How long does the CA TVS Operator course take to complete?
The course is 4 hours long. This course length is mandated by the state. Lessons are timed to ensure
you spend the minimum required time in the course. Other than complying with lesson timers, you can take as little or as long as you'd like in the course. Log in and out at your leisure. We'll save your spot in the course each time you log out
and bring you right back to that place when you log back in. You can complete the course all in one sitting or a little at a time. It's completely up to you!
What is the TVS Operator course like?
Our TVS Operator course contains all the information you need to know to operate a Traffic Violator School in California. We cover the following topics:
- Licensing and renewal requirements for TVS owners and operators
- Responsibilities of a TVS operator
- Requirements for owners to have their own TVS school licensed
- Instructor licensing procedures and requirements
- Office procedures
- TVS statutes and regulations
- Recordkeeping and document retention requirements
- Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements (beginning with 42 U.S.C. Sec. 12101)
- Responsibilities of a TVS instructor
- Subject material required by the department for a Traffic Violator School program
- New traffic laws
- Safe driving practices
- Effective methods and techniques of teaching
- Techniques for student participation
Our course is broken up into short lessons full of multimedia elements (videos, self-assessments, animations and more) to keep you engaged and to help you learn the material.
Each lesson is followed by a 5-question multiple-choice quiz. You must answer 4 of the 5 questions correctly to pass. Don't worry, you're allowed unlimited retakes on the lesson quizzes and can take them again
until you pass.
At the end of the course is a multiple-choice final exam. You must receive a score of at least 70% to pass. The exam is open-book, so you can look back at the course as you take it. The State of California allows you 2 attempts at the final exam. If
you don't pass the exam on your second attempt, you must retake the course. Don't worry, we're so confident that you'll pass the exam that we'll allow you to retake the course for FREE if you don't pass.
Can I take my course on my mobile phone?
Yes, you may complete our course on any device with an internet connection--laptop, mobile phone or tablet. Take the course with you on the go!
Is there a final exam? What happens if I don't pass the final exam?
Yes, there is a 25-question final exam. The exam is multiple-choice. You must receive a score of at least 70% to pass. The exam is open-book, so you can look back at the course as you take it. The State of California allows you 2 attempts at the final exam. If
you don't pass the exam on your second attempt, you must retake the course. We're so confident that you'll pass the exam that we'll allow you to retake the course for FREE if you don't pass.
How soon will I get my Certificate of Completion?
We will email you your Certificate of Completion as soon as you pass the final exam. You can also print a copy of your certificate from your account.
How will the California DMV know that I completed the course?
You must submit a copy of your certificate to the CA DMV with your renewal application.
Can I come back and review the course material after I complete it?
Yes, you can come back at any time to review the course material. Simply log in to your account. However, if you start a new course with us, you will no longer have access to your old course information.
How do I renew my California Traffic Violator School (TVS) Operator license?
Step 1: Complete a 4-hour CA TVS Operator course.
To renew your CA TVS Operator license, you must complete a 4-hour CA TVS Operator course that is licensed by the CA DMV. Safe2Drive's program meets this requirement. You will get a Certificate of Completion when you complete the course. You must submit this to the CA DMV along with your renewal application.
Step 2: Complete your application and mail the application and your certificate to the CA DMV.
You must complete the Application for Renewal of Traffic Violator School (TVS) Operator License (OL756) and mail your completed application with your Certificate of Completion for the 4-Hour CA TVS Operator course to the CA DMV at:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing (OL) Section-TVS Unit
PO Box 932342 MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420
How much does the course cost?
The 4-Hour Operator course is $90.00.