Our friendly Customer Support team is here 7 days a week to answer any questions you may have via phone, email or Live Chat. We're here to help!

18+ years in business
  • Overview
  • FAQs
Overview

Get a 10% discount on your car insurance for 3 years and earn a 3-point credit on your Delaware driving record!

  • Our course is approved by the Delaware DMV.
  • Forget the hassle of classrooms--take the course entirely online.
  • We email you your Certificate of Completion for FREE as soon as you pass the final exam. You can also print a free copy online.
  • We submit your completion to the DMV for you.

Register Now

Delaware Defensive Driving Course

The Delaware Defensive Driving Course is a six-hour course regulated by the Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles. Drivers take this course to get a 10% discount on their auto insurance for three years and receive a 3-point credit on their Delaware driving record.

The course covers traffic laws and techniques for driving safely on Delaware roads. The specific topics are regulated by the Delaware DMV and include:

  • Delaware Rules of the Road
  • Distracted Driving
  • Driving Emergencies
  • Protecting Yourself While Driving
  • Driving in All Delaware Seasons
  • Adult and Child Safety Equipment
  • Impaired Driving
  • Driving Behaviors
  • Recent Trends in Driving
  • Best Practices and Procedures

Delaware DMV-Approved Defensive Driving Course

Lower Your Insurance Rates!

Safe2Drive's 6-hour Basic Defensive Driving Course (aka Accident Prevention Course) is approved by the Delaware DMV. Our online course provides the maximum benefits for insurance discounts and point credit in accordance with Delaware law.

Upon completion of the course, participants receive up to a 10% discount off the cost of auto insurance, as well as a 3-point credit on their driving record.

The Best Online Delaware Defensive Driving Course

Safe2Drive has been developing online defensive driving course programs for over 18 years. Our driving specialists and course developers are experts in Delaware driving regulations and rules. Our courses feature videos, infographics, and animations. We make taking Delaware Defensive Driving fun and easy by giving you the flexibility you need. In addition, our friendly customer support team is standing by to answer any of your questions!

Eligibility

Minimum Age: 16 yrs

Maximum Age: No Maximum

The Basic course is geared towards licensed drivers in Delaware who have never taken a defensive driving course before OR if it has been over 2 years since the expiration date of a previous course.

Have Fun While Improving Your Driving Skills

Safe2Drive's unique and fun curriculum takes the dull out of taking a defensive driving course. Throughout our course, we use videos, images, infographics, quizzes, and games to keep students engaged and ensure they absorb all the important information.

Register Now


How the Delaware Defensive Driving Course Works

Our Basic Defensive Driving course is full of great benefits and can be completed in just four easy steps:

Register.

Registration is quick and easy. You'll create a username and password, read some information about the course and pay. Then, you're ready to get started!

Take the Course.

Our Delaware Defensive Driving course consists of 11 short lessons made up of reading material, videos, animations and games on traffic laws and defensive driving techniques. As per Delaware state requirements, the course is 6 hours long. You can proceed at your own pace--complete the course in one sitting, or do a little at a time. Each time you log in, we automatically take you right back to where you left off.

There is a two-question multiple-choice quiz after each lesson that you must pass to proceed to the next lesson. You can take the lesson quizzes as many times as necessary to pass.

Pass the Final Exam.

At the end of the course is a 10-question multiple-choice final exam. You must score at least 80% to pass. Most people pass on their first attempt, but don't worry! We allow unlimited exam retakes at no extra charge, so you can retake the exam until you pass.

Receive Your Certificate of Completion for the Delaware Defensive Driving Basic Course.

After you pass the final exam, we instantly email you your Certificate of Completion. You can also print a copy of your certificate from your account. Sign the certificate and deliver it to your insurance provider to receive your insurance discount. We will submit your completion to the DMV for you so you can receive the 3-point credit on your driving record. Remember to check with the DMV 7-10 business days after you complete the course to make sure they have processed your completion!

Register Now


Delaware Defensive Driving Course Syllabus

Modular 1.0: Delaware Defensive Driving Basic Course Goals

Modular 2.0: The Traffic Safety Problem

Modular 3.0: Factors Influencing Driver Performance

Modular 4.0: Delaware Traffic Laws and Procedures

Modular 5.0: Special Skills for Difficult Driving Environments

Modular 6.0: Physical Forces that Influence Driver Control

Modular 7.0: Perceptual Skills Needed for Driving

Modular 8.0: Defensive Driving Strategies

Modular 9.0: Driving Emergencies

Modular 10.0: Occupant Restraints

Modular 11.0: Alcohol and Traffic Safety

Defensive Driving Final Exam

Register Now


Why Safe2Drive?

At Safe2Drive, we put our customers above everything else. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and top-notch courses at low prices. We're constantly updating our courses to make sure they have the most up-to-date information and use the best technology available. We also offer a Money Back Guarantee.

Best of all, our courses are easy to complete and extremely convenient. Skip the hassle of the classroom and take your course online from the comfort of your own home (or on the go!).

So what are you waiting for? Get started today!

Register Now

Back to Top


Frequently Asked Questions

Delaware Defensive Driving Course

Register Now

General Information

We have made every attempt to answer the most commonly asked Delaware Defensive Driving questions. Please call, chat or email us if your question is not here.

Questions

Why should I take a Delaware Defensive Driving Basic course?

When you complete an approved Delaware Basic Defensive Driving course, you will earn a 10% discount on your auto insurance for 3 years and you will receive a 3-point credit on your driving record.

Should I take the Basic or the Refresher Delaware Defensive Driving course? What's the difference?

Both the Basic and Refresher courses will earn you an auto insurance discount and a 3-point credit on your driving record.

You should take the Delaware Basic Defensive Driving course if:

  • You have not yet taken a defensive driving course, or
  • 2 or more years have elapsed since your auto insurance discount expired.

You should take the Delaware Defensive Driving Refresher course if:

  • You want to renew your insurance discount.
  • Your Basic course benefits are within 180 days of expiring or it has been less than two years since your Basic course benefits expired.

The Basic Defensive Driving course is 6 hours long and the Refresher course is 3 hours long.

How does the Basic Delaware Defensive Driving course work?

Our Basic Delaware Defensive Driving course consists of eleven lessons. After each lesson, there is a 2-question multiple-choice quiz. You must score 100% on each quiz in order to move on to the next lesson. At the end of the course, there is a 10-question multiple-choice final exam. You must score at least 80% to pass the exam and earn your Certificate of Completion. You can take the exam as many times as necessary to pass at no extra charge.

Upon passing the exam, you will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. You can print the certificate online immediately. We will also email you a copy of your certificate. You should sign the certificate and deliver it to your insurance provider to get your insurance discount. We will submit your completion to the DMV for you so you can get the 3-point credit on your driving record.

Must I finish the Defensive Driving course in one sitting?

No, you can come and go as often as you like. Just use your username and password to login and we will take you to where you last left off.

How long does the Basic Delaware Defensive Driving course take to complete?

As per Delaware requirements, the Basic Defensive Driving course is 6 hours in length.

Can I take the exam online? What happens if I don't pass the final exam?

Yes, you can take the exam online. Our online exam consists of 10 multiple-choice questions. You must score at least 80% to pass. Most people pass the exam on their first attempt, but you can retake the exam if you need to at no additional cost.

When will I get my Defensive Driving certificate?

Your Certificate of Completion will be awarded immediately after you pass the final exam. You can print it online instantly. We will also email a copy of your certificate to you after you pass the final exam. You must deliver your certificate to your insurance provider to get the insurance discount. We will submit your completion to the DMV for you to receive the 3-point credit on your driving record. Remember to check with the DMV 7-10 business days after you complete the course to make sure they have processed your completion!

Can I Print my Defensive Driving certificate?

Yes, your Certificate of Completion will be awarded immediately after you pass the final exam. You can print it online instantly.

Is my insurance company required to offer a discount when I complete the Basic Defensive Driving Course?

Yes, Senate Bill 178 with Senate Amendment 1 of the 147th General Assembly transfers the authority to regulate Delaware’s state-approved motor vehicle accident prevention (defensive driving) courses from the Department of Insurance to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), except for the regulatory authority over the insurance discount as required by the program, which will remain under the Department of Insurance. This statutory and regulatory change became effective March 11, 2015. Although the defensive driving courses are now regulated by the DMV, the qualifications for discounts have not been changed. Just as before, if a driver of a vehicle completes an approved course, the driver is eligible to receive up to a 10 percent discount off a portion of his/her auto insurance for three years. If a driver takes a refresher course within 180 days of the end of the three-year period, he/she is eligible to receive up to a 15 percent discount off a portion of his/her auto insurance for three years.

How much does the Delaware Defensive Driving course cost?

This course costs $14.95.

Register Now

Back to Top