Ready to get out there on the road? In Florida, one of the requirements for first-time drivers to get their Learner's License or their Class E Driver's License is to complete
the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course. TLSAE is a 4-hour course that covers information on traffic laws (including road signs, how to interact safely with
other roadway users, and how to drive in inclement weather), as well as information on how alcohol and drugs can affect you and your driving.
Safe2Drive makes fulfilling your TLSAE requirement quick and easy. You can complete your TLSAE course completely online. We even submit your completion to the Florida HSMV for you and provide
you with a FREE copy of your Receipt of Completion.
How the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse(TLSAE) Course Works
You can complete your TLSAE course in three easy steps:
Step One: Register
Simply create an account with a username and password, fill out your contact information, and answer a few personal validation questions to get started. You can even try the course for FREE. You don't have to pay until you're ready to take the final exam. Note that you must be at least 14 years old to take the course.
Step Two: Complete the Course
The 4-hour course is divided into 10 short lessons on topics ranging from the physiological effects of drugs and alcohol to how to drive safely in bad weather. Each lesson is full of fun videos, animations and games.
At the end of each lesson is a short multiple-choice quiz. You must score at least 80% on the quiz to pass. If you don't pass on the first try, don't worry! You can take the quiz as many times as you need to pass at no additional charge.
At the end of the course is a 40-question multiple-choice final exam. You must score at least 80% to pass. Most people pass on their first attempt, but you can take the exam as many times as you need to get a passing score.
The entire course is online and can be completed on any mobile device. Complete it on your desktop at home or on your phone or tablet on the go!
Step Three: Receipt of Completion
Once you pass the course, we automatically submit your completion information to the Florida HSMV for you. Please note that it takes approximately 48 hours for your course completion to be annotated on your record once we report it.
You can also print a receipt of your completion for your records for FREE.
A Quick Guide to Getting Your Florida Learner's License
To qualify for your Florida Learner's License you must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (Please note that you can take the TLSAE course when you are 14 but you cannot get your Learner's License until you are 15).
- Pass the permit test (if you haven't taken your permit test yet, check out our online permit test or our TLSAE and permit test bundle for a discounted price).
- Pass a vision test.
If you are under age 18 and you are not married, you must have your parent or legal guardian sign your license application in front of the driver license examiner/agent or a notary public. The parent or
legal guardian who signs your application agrees to take responsibility for your driving. If the signer decides to rescind responsibility, your license will be canceled. Married minors must show a certified
marriage certificate. Emancipated minors must show a certified court order.
If you meet the above requirements, fill out a driver license application and visit the DHSMV with your parent if you are under 18 to apply for your Learner's License.
Driving Restrictions:If you are between the ages of 15 and 17 and have a Learner's License, you must adhere to the following driving restrictions:
- You must always drive accompanied by a licensed driver who is age 21 or older in the closest seat to the right of the driver.
- You must only drive during daylight hours during the first 3 months after earning your Learner's License. After 3 months, you may drive until 10 P.M.
How To Get Your Florida Class E Driver License
To qualify for your Florida Class E Driver License, you must do the following:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course.
- You must provide the required identification documents (to find more information regarding the required identification documents, click here).
- You must pass the permit test (if you haven't taken your permit test yet, check out our online permit test or our TLSAE and permit test bundle for a discounted price).
- You must pass a vision test.
- You must pass the Driving Skills exam.
- If you are under age 18, you must also:
- Hold your Learner's License for 12 months or until your 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
- Have NO moving traffic violation convictions for 12 months from the date your Leaner's License was issued. Or, you may have ONE moving traffic violation (within 12 months of the date your Learner's License was issued) if adjudication is withheld.
- Have a parent, legal guardian, or responsible adult 21 years old or older certify that you have had at least 50 hours of driving experience, 10 hours of which must be at night.
- Have a parent or guardian sign the parental consent form.
- Be in compliance with school attendance.
Florida Driving Restrictions:If you are under age 18 and have your Class E Driver License, you face certain driving restrictions depending on your age.
- If you are age 16, you must not drive between 11 P.M. to 6 A.M.
- If you are age 17, you must not drive between 1 A.M. to 5 A.M. unless you are driving to or from work OR you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is age 21 or older.
- Any driver under age 18 who accumulates 6 or more points within a 12 month period is automatically restricted for one year to driving for "Business Purposes ONLY."
You can find more information on driver licensing requirements on the Florida HSMV website.
We understand you're eager to meet the necessary requirements and get your Florida driver license. That's why we've gone the extra mile to make sure the process is
quick and easy for you. Our registration process is short and sweet, and we offer a fun and engaging course that will teach you everything you need to know to be safe out there on the road.
You can take your TLSAE course on a desktop, tablet, or even your cell phone! Once you pass, we'll report your results to the DHSMV for you! It's as simple as that.
So what are you waiting for? Get started today!
Back to Top