Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education
What is Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education?
The state of Florida requires teens to complete a 4-Hr Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) program as one of the requirements to obtain a Learner License. Adult drivers who have never held a Driver License before are also required to complete a TLSAE course to qualify for their Driver License.
The 4-Hr program covers important topics on traffic laws and substance abuse. The state of Florida also refers to this program as the "TLSAE" program (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education).
Approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Our program is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
Our program is entirely online. You can take the course in the convenience of your home or where ever you happen to be as long as you have an internet connection.
Certificate of Completion
Your certificate will be processed the same day you pass the final exam. Safe2Drive will electronically submit your certificate to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department (FLHSMV).
Please Note: It takes approximately 48 hours for your course completion to be annotated on your record once we report it.
We email you your receipt of completion, and you can also print a receipt of completion from your account for your records. There is no charge for the receipt.
You can check the status of Safe2Drive's submission to FLHSMV by logging into Safe2Drive and clicking on "Track My Certificate."
The Florida Graduated License Program (GDL) has three steps:
More on the Learner's License
The first license you get is called the Learner License. The most basic requirement is that you must be 15 years old and have your parents' permission. Only one parent or a guardian must consent.
In addition, you must complete a course like this and pass several tests. There is a written test that contains questions on traffic signs and rules. Then there are vision and hearing tests you must pass to ensure you can see and hear adequately. The entire list of requirements is shown below. At all times you must drive with a licensed driver 21 years or older right next to you. This means all 12 months.
Class E Driver License
To qualify for your Class E Driver License, you must do the following:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course.
- You must provide the required identification documents (to find more information regarding the required identification documents, click here).
- You must pass the permit test (if you haven't taken your permit test yet, check out our online permit test or our TLSAE and permit test bundle for a discounted price).
- You must pass a vision test.
- You must pass the Driving Skills exam.
- If you are under age 18, you must also:
- Hold your Learner's License for 12 months or until your 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
- Have NO moving traffic violation convictions for 12 months from the date your Leaner's License was issued. Or, you may have ONE moving traffic violation (within 12 months of the date your Learner's License was issued) if adjudication is withheld.
- Have a parent, legal guardian, or responsible adult 21 years old or older certify that you have had at least 50 hours of driving experience, 10 hours of which must be at night.
- Have a parent or guardian sign the parental consent form.
- Be in compliance with school attendance.
Driving Restrictions:If you are under age 18 and have your Class E Driver License, you face certain driving restrictions depending on your age.
- If you are age 16, you must not drive between 11 P.M. to 6 A.M.
- If you are age 17, you must not drive between 1 A.M. to 5 A.M. unless you are driving to or from work OR you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is age 21 or older.
- Any driver under age 18 who accumulates 6 or more points within a 12 month period is automatically restricted for one year to driving for "Business Purposes ONLY."