Virginia Driving School Online
Why Should I Take This Course?
There are several reasons why drivers take a Virginia Driving School course:
- Court Ordered-With Safe Driver Points Awarded
Drivers take this course if they received a citation and the court or judge told them to take the course and told them they will receive safe driving points.
- Court Ordered-Without Safe Driver Points Awarded
Drivers take this course if they received a citation and the court or judge told them to take the course and told them they will not receive safe driving points.
- DMV-Required (Driver Improvement Clinic)
Drivers take this course if the Virginia DMV sent a letter that tells them to take a Virginia driver improvement program.
- Receive Safe Driving Points (Voluntary)
Drivers take this course voluntarily if they wish to get 5 safe driving points added to their record.
- Non-Resident (Court-Required)
Out-of-state drivers take this course if they received a ticket in Virginia and the court is requiring them to take the course.
A driving school course is also a great refresher for any driver. It will help you brush up on the basics and learn about new Virginia driving laws that might have
been put into place since you got your driver's license.
Am I Eligible?
You are eligible to take a an online driver improvement course if:
- You are at least 20 years old.
- You were at least 20 years old when you were convicted of the traffic violation.
If students don’t meet those 2 requirements, they must complete a driver improvement clinic that provides classroom instruction.
How It Works
Get everything done in six easy steps!
- Complete the course.
- Pass the exam.
- Complete the course evaluation.
- Get your Certificate of Completion.
Upon finishing traffic school, a Certificate of Completion is mailed to you. You must sign the certificate and deliver it to the court. For drivers with a Virginia driver's license, Safe2Drive will also send your completion information to the Virginia DMV within 24 hours.
If you complete the course by 6PM EST (3PM PST) on Monday through Friday, Safe2Drive will mail the certificate to you the same day. Otherwise, we will mail your certificate the following business day. We mail your certificate via USPS First-Class Mail at no additional charge. USPS First-Class Mail usually takes 3-4 days. We also offer FedEx options for an additional charge if you need your certificate sooner.
It's as easy as that! Our helpful Customer Care team is here to answer any questions you may have.