Georgia Driver Education
Intermediate License Requirements
Getting Your Intermediate License
Joshua's Law states that in order to get your Georgia intermediate driver's license (also known as a Class D license) at age 16 or 17, you will need to complete a Georgia Driver Education course and supervised driving practice.
Intermediate License Eligibility Requirements
In order to be eligible for your intermediate license, you will need to meet some criteria:
- You must be at least 16 years old before applying for your intermediate license.
- You must have held an instructional permit for a minimum of 12 months and one day.
- You must not have been convicted of any major traffic violations that resulted in the suspension of your permit.
- If you are under the age of 18, you must not be/have been withdrawn from school or have 10 or more unexcused school absences or any conduct infractions.
Steps to Earning Your Intermediate License
The process for getting an intermediate license is straightforward. Just follow these steps:
- Register for the Georgia Driver Education course.
- Pay for the course.
- Complete the course. If you do not complete a driver education course, you cannot get your intermediate license until you turn 18.
- Complete 40 hours of supervised driver training with a parent or legal guardian, following The 40-Hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide. Click here to download the Parent/Teen Driving Guide [Download Here],
or click here to view the Parent/Teen Driving Guide online [View Online]. You may also opt to complete 6 hours of Behind-the-Wheel training with a driving instructor in addition to 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent or guardian. At least 6 of the 40 hours must take place at night. Please note: You must have a permit prior to any behind-the-wheel training.
- Apply for your intermediate license. If you are under the age of 18, your parent/legal guardian, responsible adult (only if you are emancipated and have court-ordered documentation), or professional driving instructor must sign your application for an intermediate license.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass the road skills test.
What to Bring to the DDS Office
You will need to bring the following items to the DDS office to apply for an intermediate license:
Certificate of Completion from a DDS-approved driver education program (this is required for teens age 16 and 17).
License fee (you may pay by cash, money order, check, or credit/debit card)
Valid insurance card and vehicle registration for the vehicle you will use for the road skills test. The vehicle's tag must not be expired.
- Completion of DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide: A Driving Experience Affidavit (DDS-7) must be completed at DDS affirming the applicant has a minimum of 40 hours of driving, 6 of which must be at night. Teens without the required 40 hours will not be tested. Click here to download the Parent/Teen Driving Guide [Download Here],
or click here to view the Parent/Teen Driving Guide online [View Online].
- Proof of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training at a DDS-approved school: Certificate from instructor, plus a Driving Experience Affidavit (DDS-7) completed at the DDS affirming that the applicant has a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent/guardian, 6 of which must be at night.
After Receiving Your Intermediate License
After receiving your intermediate license, the final step in the licensing process is earning your full driver's license! Find out the requirements for a full license.