Online Georgia Driver Education
Approved by the DDS
Safe2Drive's Georgia Online Driver Education course is approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) and meets all Joshua's Law requirements. You don't have to stress about whether or not your teen is getting a good education: our comprehensive curriculum will teach them everything they need to know and fulfill their driver education requirements.
About the Course
Safe2Drive's online 30-Hour Georgia Driver Education course is not only educational, it's also interactive and fun! Some of the course features your teen will enjoy include:
- Entertaining videos
- Fun games
- Engaging slideshows with audio
Joshua's Law Requirements
In order to get a driver's license at age 16, Joshua's Law requires that teens must complete an approved 30-hour driver education course in Georgia. Our course satisfies this 30-hour driver education requirement. In addition, teens must complete behind-the-wheel training.
With an online course (virtual program), teens have two options to complete the behind-the-wheel requirement:
- Complete a 30-hour online course PLUS 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training at a DDS-approved school PLUS 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent/guardian (6 of which must be at night).
- Complete a 30-hour online course PLUS the 40-Hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide provided by the DDS (no additional supervised driving required).
Please note that teens will not be allowed to take the road skills test until they have completed the 40 hours of supervised driving. Teens will also need to complete a Driving Experience Affidavit (DDS-7) at the DDS. This serves as proof that 40 hours of supervised driving (including 6 hours at night) have been completed.
Teens are also required to hold their Instructional Permit for 1 year and 1 day before they are eligible to apply for their driver's license.
Teens who are 17 years old are not required to complete a driver education course, but they are required to complete 40 hours of supervised driving (including 6 hours of driving at night).
Benefits for Parents
- Allows your teen to take the first 6 hours of the course for FREE
- Provides a low-cost and convenient way for your teen to complete their Georgia Driver Education course
- No driving your teen to classes! The course is completed 100% online.
Steps for Parents
All that's required for the two of you to get started is to register for the course on our website!
- Have your teen complete the first six hours of online instruction.
- Pay for the course.
- Have your teen complete the remaining 24 hours of online instruction.
- At the end of the course, your teen will take a 30-question, multiple-choice final exam. A minimum score of 70% is required to pass.
- Upon successful course completion, your teen will have their Certificate of Completion emailed to them.
What Your Teen Will Need at the DDS
Your teen will need to bring the following items to the DDS office to apply for an intermediate license:
Certificate of Completion from a DDS-approved driver education program (this is required for teens under 17 years of age).
License fee (you may pay by cash, money order, check, or credit/debit card)
Valid insurance card and vehicle registration for the vehicle your teen will use for the road skills test. The vehicle's tag must not be expired.
- Completion of DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide: A Driving Experience Affidavit (DDS-7) must be completed at DDS affirming the applicant has a minimum of 40 hours of driving, 6 of which must be at night. Teens without the required 40 hours will not be tested.
- Proof of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training at a DDS-approved school: Certificate from instructor, plus a Driving Experience Affidavit (DDS-7) completed at the DDS affirming that the applicant has a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent/guardian, 6 of which must be at night.
Tell Me More