Texas Seat Belt Course
How to Handle a Seat Belt Ticket in Texas
Why Should I Take a Seat Belt Course?
Typically, a driver takes a Texas Seat Belt course because they received a seat belt-related citation and have been ordered by the court to attend a driving safety course. Individuals may also choose to take a Seat Belt course for continuing education purposes.
Why Would I Get a Seat Belt Ticket?
Texas, like other states, has occupant restraint laws in place in order to keep drivers and passengers safe. A ticket for a seat belt-related offense can be issued for breaking these laws.
You are considered to be committing an offense when you meet the following criteria:
- You are at least 15 years old.
- You are riding in a passenger vehicle (noncommercial vehicle) while the vehicle is being operated.
- You are sitting in a seat that has a seat belt and you are not wearing the seat belt.
You can also be given a ticket if:
- You operate a passenger vehicle that has seat belts and you allow a child under the age of 17 (who is not required to sit in a child passenger safety seat system) to ride in the vehicle without wearing a seat belt, if they are sitting in a seat that has a seat belt.
- You operate a passenger vehicle and transport a child under the age of 8 and do not keep the child in a child passenger safety seat system (car seat), unless the child is taller than 4'9".
- You operate a school bus that has a seat belt for the driver’s seat but do not wear it.
- You operate an open-bed pickup truck when a child under the age of 18 is in the bed of the truck.
Read more about Texas seat belt laws here.
What Do I Need to Do If I'm Ordered to Take a Texas Seat Belt Course?
You will need to successfully complete a Seat Belt course and provide proof of this fact for the court. Safe2Drive will email you a Certificate of Completion at the end of your course which will serve as your proof.
What Are the Requirements for a Texas Seat Belt Course?
In order to receive credit for your TX driving safety course, the course must:
- Be TDLR-approved.
- Include at least 4 hours of information that encourages the proper use of seat belts and car seats.
- Teach the effectiveness of seat belts in improving safety.
Safe2Drive’s online Texas Seat Belt course meets all of these standards, and it’s not only educational, it’s entertaining, too!