What is the Georgia Driver Education Course?
The Georgia Driver Education Course is a 30-hour program that teaches Georgia teens the theory of driving a car safely.
Teens who are 16 or 17 years old are required to complete driver education as one of the requirements to obtain an intermediate
driver license. Teens may take the course in a classroom or online. The classroom setting requires in-person participation and is
taught by a licensed instructor. The online course can be taken on a computer anywhere internet access is available.
The DDS also specifies the topics that must be covered in a course. They include:
- The Driver's Responsibility
- Basic Driving Skills (e.g., Turning, Passing, Signaling)
- Driving Conditions
- Driving Techniques (e.g., 2-Second Rule, IPDE)
- Protecting Yourself While Driving
- Adult and Child Safety Equipment
- Impaired Driving
- Distracted Driving
- City, Rural, Suburban, Expressway Driving
- Truck, Motorcycle, and Bicycle Awareness
- The Psychology and Physiology of Drivers
- The Science of Driving (e.g., Kinetic Energy, Friction)
The course is regulated by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS). The DDS certifies schools to teach
the course. A list of approved schools can be found on the DDS website. Safe2Drive is an approved school.
Joshua Brown died in a car accident in 2003. He was a teenager without any driver education or training. Yet he had a valid
license. He was driving in the rain, hit a large puddle of water, hydroplaned, and hit a tree.
His parents began a push for stronger driving safety laws to prevent other people from losing loved ones.
Joshua's Law was the result of their efforts.
Joshua's Law requires all 16-year-olds applying for a Class D driver's license to complete an approved driver education course and
complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian's sworn
verification that these driving requirements have been met. As of July 1, 2021, Joshua’s Law driver training is now added to the
list of requirements for 17-year-olds to complete prior to being issued a Class D driver’s license.
The Georgia Driver Education course is 30 hours in length. Safe2Drive's course consists of a series of lessons with a
short quiz at the end of each lesson. You proceed through the course sequentially through the lessons, passing the quizzes as you go.
Quizzes are straightforward but can be retaken as many times as necessary. An exam is administered at the end of the course.
Our online exam consists of 30 multiple-choice questions and requires about 20-30 minutes to complete.
You will need to score at least 70% to pass the exam. You may retake the final exam an unlimited number of times until you pass.
Our online Georgia Driver Education Course is full of cool features that make it fun as well as educational! You can access your course 24/7 and log in as often as you
want to. We always take you right back to where you left off in your online driver education course.
You can take your course on any device, and you'll enjoy fun games, videos, animations, and so much more!
If you ever need help with your course, just contact our Customer Care team--we're here to answer all of your questions!