Welcome to Safe2Drive! Congratulations on deciding to get your Texas driver license--it's a big step! We know this is an exciting time, and we understand how eager you are to get
started and get on the road. That's why we've worked hard to create a convenient, quality Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE) course that you can complete with ease.
So, what makes it so easy?
With our TDLR-approved course, you can complete all of your "classroom" instruction online! That's right, no getting dropped off at a stuffy classroom on the weekend!
Plus, you can work on your course at the pace that's best for you. Want to chip away at your driver education between classes? That's fine! Would you prefer to
work on it for a couple hours* a day after school? It's completely up to you!
This Texas Parent Taught Driver Education
course even offers you the choice of taking your Knowledge Test online or at the DPS. We want you to have the flexibility to do what works best for you and your schedule.
Not only do we make things simple, but our Texas Parent Taught course is fun and interactive, too!
We've packed each lesson with videos, games, slideshows, and more. Enjoy listening along to real-life stories on the driving experience, check out animations that show you how to take and yield the right-of-way or
make difficult driving moves, and cast your vote with our Live Vote feature, which tests how well your driving knowledge measures up to that of others. Here at Safe2Drive, we want you to have
fun while you're learning. Because when you are engaged with what you're learning, you'll remember that information and put it to use on the road.
Your parent will guide you through the driver education course, and you'll qualify for your learner license after just 6 hours. If you or your parent have questions while you are taking the course, our
friendly and helpful Customer Care team is here to help you 7 days a week. You can call, email, or even reach out to us on Facebook! We are always here for you.
We know you're thrilled to finally be getting your Texas license, and we want you to be the best driver you can be. You'll feel ready to take on the road with Safe2Drive's Texas Parent Taught
Driver Ed course. So let's get started!
*As per Texas law, you may complete a maximum of 2 hours of instruction per day.
A Quick Guide to Getting Your Texas Driver License
There are a few eligibility requirements you must meet in order to take the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education course:
- You must be at least 14 years old before starting the online course.
- You must be at least 15 years old in order to take the learner license exam.
There are a few eligibility requirements for Texas Parent Taught Driver Education course instructors:
- The instructor must be the student’s parent, step-parent, grandparent, step-grandparent, foster parent or legal guardian appointed by a court. A power of attorney is not considered a legal guardian.
Additionally, a parent, legal guardian, or a judge of a court with jurisdiction over the student can designate a person to instruct the course who:
- is at least 25 years old;
- does not charge a fee for conducting the course; and
- has at least seven years of driving experience.
- The instructor must possess a valid license for the preceding three years that has not been suspended, revoked, or forfeited in the past three years for an offense that involves the operation of a motor vehicle.
- Instructors cannot have:
- a conviction (including a probated sentence) of criminally negligent homicide; or
- a conviction (including a probated sentence) of driving while intoxicated in the last seven years; and
- a conviction in the preceding three years of:
- three or more moving violations described by Section 542.304, Transportation Code, including violations that resulted in an accident; or
- two or more moving violations described by Section 542.304, Transportation Code, that resulted in an accident.
Instructors are responsible for checking their criminal and driver records prior to requesting the PTDE Program Guide. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will verify the instructor’s record when it processes the student’s learner license and again when it processes the student’s provisional driver license.
If the DPS determines that the instructor does not meet the requirements, the DPS will deny the learner license or provisional driver license along with any prior classroom instruction or behind the wheel/in-car instruction provided by the ineligible instructor.
To verify your eligibility to be an instructor before ordering the PTDE Program Guide, please use the DPS Online Driver Record Request System.
If you and your instructor are eligible, you're ready to get started!
Step 1: Create a Safe2Drive Account
Signing up is easy! Just click the Register Now button and we will guide you through all of the steps to set up your account.
Step 2: Request Your Parent Taught Driver Education Program Guide
You must request and receive the Parent Taught Driver Education Program Guide
from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) before you can begin the course. The PTDE Program Guide contains forms that you need in order to get a learner license!
All you have to do is fill out the online request form and make payment. The guide costs $20. After you purchase the guide,
you will receive an email with a link to download the guide. Check your spam and junk folders if you do not see the email in your inbox.
Next, download and read the Parent Taught Driver Education Program Guide. To check the status of your order, or to download the guide if you do not have an email address, click here.
You can start the course as soon as you have the Parent Taught Driver Education Program Guide.
Step 3: Get Your Learner License After 6 Hours
The next step is to complete the first six hours of the course. If you choose to take the Knowledge Test online with us, you will need to take and pass this test at that point. You also have the option to go to the DPS to take your Knowledge Test. Once you pass (woo!), you can go to the DPS to apply for your learner license! We've put together a helpful list of all of the documents you need to bring with you.
Once you have your learner license, you are able to start the behind-the-wheel training with your parent or guardian!
Step 4: Finish Your Parent Taught Driver Education Course
Complete the remaining 26 hours of online instruction and the 44 hours of your behind-the-wheel training. Once you have successfully completed your Texas Parent Taught course, we will award you a Certificate of Completion.
We provide a complete behind-the-wheel training guide for your in-car sessions.
Step 5: Complete the Free ITTD Course
Texas law requires you to complete their Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) course as a step toward getting your driver license. It's a free online
course, and you must complete it and receive a Certificate of Completion. Hang on to this certificate--you will need it when applying for your Texas driver license.
Step 6: Get Your Driver License!
This is what you've been waiting for! In order to get your Texas driver license, you need to complete the steps above, be at least 16 years old, have resided in Texas for at least 30 days prior to applying for your driver license, and have held your learner license for at least 6 months. Then, just gather the required documents and head to the DPS to take your driving exam.
When you pass the driving exam, you'll be issued a driver license. That's it, you're all done!
Safe2Drive's Got You Covered
We understand that you're anxious to finish your TX PTDE course so you can get your driver license. That's why we have set up our online course to be as easy to use and convenient as possible for you. Take it on your
computer, your iPad, or even your phone! Fit in your driver education between classes, after school, or whenever you have time. You have the freedom to study on your own schedule.
We are here to help if you have questions. We're available 7 days a week.
So what are you waiting for? Get started today and get on your way toward receiving your driver license!
Back to Top